You've just added:

2014 Harrington Scientific Symposium


Date + Time

  • June 05 - 06, 2014

    4:00 pm - 4:00 pm

In recognition of the Harrington Discovery Institute’s new partnership with The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and the inaugural Harrington Prize 2014 symposium. The first Harrington Prize awardee, Harry Dietz, MD, Victor A. McKusick Professor Medicine and Genetics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, presented personal reflections following dinner Thursday evening at the historic Shoreby Club on the shores of Lake Erie in nearby Bratenahl, Ohio.

William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD, Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and member of the Scientific Advisory Board delivered the Keynote Lecture to open the symposium.

The Cleveland Institute of Music in University Circle was the setting for Friday’s scientific presentations by the 2014 Harrington Scholar-Innovators and a panel discussion on accelerating cures by disease foundation executives, moderated by Baiju Shah, CEO, BioMotiv.

Special presenters on day two included Andrew Schafer, MD, Professor of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College and Beth Levine, MD, Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and member of the Harrington Discovery Institute Scientific Advisory Board, delivered the closing Keynote Lecture.