Now Accepting Nominations

2025 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine

You've just added:

December 14, 2016

Announcement of Inaugural Class of Harrington Fellows

Cleveland, Ohio – 2016 Harrington Fellows have been selected by Harrington Discovery Institute. The new Harrington Fellows Award recognizes promising early- to mid-career physician-scientists in the greater Cleveland medical community and provides $75,000 per year for two years to support their research efforts.

Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals – part of The Harrington Project for Discovery & Development – aims to advance medicine and society by enabling the nation’s most inventive physician-scientists to turn their discoveries into medicines that improve human health.

The 2016 Harrington Fellows are:

Derek Abbott, MD, PhD, Associate Professor and Arline H. and Curtis F. Garvin Professor of Medicine and Co-Director, Medical Scientist Training Program, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. Dr. Abbott’s research has combined molecular, bioinformatics and proteomic approaches to identify and pharmaceutically target novel inflammatory signaling pathways.

Alex Huang, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and Program Director, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, UH Cleveland Medical Center. Dr. Huang’s research is focused on understanding cancer immunology and defining the cellular and molecular immunological principles governing tumor immunity to advance the application of cancer immunotherapy.

Nima Sharifi, MD, Kendrick Family Endowed Chair for Prostate Cancer Research, Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute and Co-Director of the Prostate Cancer Research Center of Excellence at Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Sharifi’s research is centered on investigating metabolic and molecular mechanisms of hormone therapy resistance in prostate cancer and the development of new treatment strategies.

“We are pleased to support the research efforts of these three talented physician-scientists,” said Jonathan Stamler, MD, President of Harrington Discovery Institute, who also is Director of the Institute for Transformative Molecular Medicine at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. “These physician-scientists are driven by their commitment to patients for whom they have cared and we are committed to ensuring that our community can benefit from its creative talent.”

About the Scholars

Nima Sharifi

Metabolic, Oncology

Nima Sharifi, MD

Cleveland Clinic
Harrington Fellows

More about Nima Sharifi

Alex Huang

Immunology, Oncology

Alex Huang, MD, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Harrington Fellows

More about Alex Huang

Derek Abbott


Derek Abbott, MD, PhD

Case Western Reserve University
Harrington Fellows

More about Derek Abbott

We have updated our Online Services Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. See our Cookies Notice for information concerning our use of cookies and similar technologies. By using this website or clicking “I ACCEPT”, you consent to our Online Services Terms of Use.