Now Accepting Nominations

2025 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine

You've just added:

May 04, 2017

Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine

CLEVELAND (May 4, 2017) – National and international nominations are being sought for the fifth annual Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine, which honors a physician-scientist who has moved science forward with achievements notable for innovation, creativity and the potential for clinical application.

Deadline for nominations is August 29, 2017.

The Harrington Prize, which carries a $20,000 honorarium, is a collaboration between The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), one of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies, and the Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland, Ohio – part of The Harrington Project for Discovery & Development. The Harrington Discovery Institute is a nonprofit institute dedicated to supporting physician-scientists in their work to transform bench discoveries into promising leads that may result in novel therapeutics.

Both organizations recognize the obstacles associated with turning discoveries into medicines that improve human health, and they are eager to highlight those who have navigated the path successfully or whose work has led to novel treatments.

A committee composed of members of the ASCI Council and the Harrington Discovery Institute Scientific Advisory Board will review the nominations and select the awardee. In addition to the honorarium, the 2018 recipient will deliver The Harrington Prize Lecture at the 2018 Joint Meeting of the Association of American Physicians (AAP), the ASCI, and the American Physician Scientists Association (APSA) on April 20-22, 2018, will participate at the 2018 Harrington Discovery Institute annual symposium (May 23 - 24, 2018), and will publish a personal essay in the Journal of Clinical Investigation.

Previous award winners are Daniel J. Drucker, MD, Joel F. Habener, MD and Jens J. Holst, MD, DMSc (2017 co-recipients); Jeffrey M. Friedman, MD, PhD (2016); Douglas R. Lowy, MD (2015); and Harry C. Dietz, MD (2014). For more information please visit

We have updated our Online Services Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. See our Cookies Notice for information concerning our use of cookies and similar technologies. By using this website or clicking “I ACCEPT”, you consent to our Online Services Terms of Use.